Youth

Posted: May 22, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

Youth

21 May 2013 07:00PM

 

 

I have just said good bye to someone that I know I am not going to see again and, I felt a smack of sadness and grief because I know that a huge chapter of my life is over. Did they know they wouldn’t see me again, maybe not, but I knew. So, I’m moving on, and as one door closes, another opens. Having said that, I’m not sure what’s next. We’ve all been there at different times in our lives and it makes me think of that lovely song, ‘Between Trapezes,’ by the singer- song writer Lara Martin. So aptly written, the words focus on those times in our lives when we have to let go of things to make room for the new, but stepping out of that comfort zone into the unknown is never easy.

So, everything has its season, appointed time and such.  Life moves on…Getting older yes. Who isn’t? But then we should consider our good fortune when we think of the news this past couple of days and the tragic deaths in Oklahoma, especially those of children. We all need to treasure our memories and embrace those around us with fondness, because we have no idea when we will have to say those goodbyes.

It’s hard to believe that nearly half of 2013 has gone already and time does seem to be speeding ahead .Is that something we over 50s feel or are you younger ones stunned as well at the rate this year is hurtling forward? Sometimes I fleetingly wish I was younger and I understand what my granny meant when she came out with expressions like, ‘I wish I was younger, and know all that I know now.’ Oh what it is to have wisdom and experience, to have lived and loved, to be mature and wise.  And sometimes I have to question who is the younger anyway, ‘cos I’m still charging around doing a hundred and one things when my kids get caught napping after dinner. What’s that all about?

So should we wish we were younger? Never

Should we banish those words from our vocabulary, I’m too old for that? Yes, don’t you dare say that!  And don’t get caught saying, ‘they didn’t do that in my day,’ either ‘cos it’s still your day! You are here aren’t you?

Don’t feel miserable about getting older, embrace life to the full and if you’re like me you will probably be busier than you’ve ever been. If not, get clued –up and connected. Then get busy. There’s plenty to do out there, so just re discover those gifts and talents that are hidden away and make use of them.

 

Chat soon

Anna

Leave a comment