Little Mermaid

Posted: May 6, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Little Mermaid

03 May 2012 12:00AM

 

Don’t you just love to go to the theatre? Well I do. There are so many outstanding productions in the West End and I counted that there at least 33 shows at any one time, not that I would want to see them all. I love musical theatre in particular and Shrek was awesome, Matilda is next on the to-do list. Seems I like the kid’s stuff!  Meanwhile, this year I really want to make an effort to see one or two dramas and some comedy. So, as I seem to be going to London more frequently there’s no excuse and I’ll just have to look out for those bargains on www.last.minute.com.  I would have loved to see Legally Blonde but I knew my theatre pal wouldn’t like that. ‘Too girlie’ he was bound to say. No matter, I’ve arranged to see it at the Alhambra in Yorkshire with a girlie friend later this year, as it’s just gone on tour.

I was delighted when my son rang me a few days ago and said, ‘Mum, I’m taking you to the theatre.’ Uhm! Yippee, I just so happened to be free that night and I love surprises. 
‘Were going to see Little Mermaid,’ he mused.                                                                                                                                 
Where is that showing I wondered? But Little Mermaid is another of those lovely stories written by Hans Christian Anderson and adapted for stage by Disney Theatrical…not something my son would want to see, so there obviously had to be a catch…
Ha! Ha! Ha! It turned out to be an amateur children’s production in a neighbouring church hall in a village I would never normally go to but, do you know what? It was good. Really good! Although Ariel is probably supposed to be my favourite character – the lovely little mermaid who was fascinated by the human world – who isn’t!  The role was so well played; in fact all the kids were great. But my favourite characters were little Flounder, Ariel’s loyal companion, and the Sea Witch Ursula, which was played brilliantly by one of the teachers. Such a great production put together by only three or four adults. As for those proud parents sitting in the audience I remember what it is like to sit there feeling s-o-o-o proud of my kids. Well, now it seems I’m watching the granddaughters showing off their dramatic skills. Oh my Gosh! Where did the years go?

Next time I go to the theatre however, I hope I can have a nice glass of Merlot during the interval and a few cashew nuts instead of a packet of monster munch and a can of diet coke from the little tuck shop. Bless! Only joking. 

Variety is the spice of life. Have a nice day.

Anna

Leave a comment